THE PANHANDLER by Edwin Deloatch

Excuse me sir, can you spare a nickel or perhaps a dime?
I promise not to use it to buy any liquor or any wine.
I know that I smell bad and pardon me for being in your way
But if I don’t get something to eat, not long I’ll stay.
I once had a job like you
and a car
and a home.
But I’ll never forget that dreadful day when I left without
my phone.
They tried all day to reach me but to no avail.
They say the girl was texting when her car jumped the median
and went head on into my wife Gloria and my daughter Gail.
In an instant, they were both forever gone
And since then, I’ve never been able to move on.
I had what they called a nervous breakdown and when I got out
of the hospital I’d lost my home
My car
And my job
So here I stand and beg because it’s not my nature to rob.
I hope one day to get my mind right and get back on my feet.
I’m tired of eating out of garbage cans and living on the street.
So the next time you pass me and decide to judge me too
Just remember, what happened to me can also happen to you.

One thought on “THE PANHANDLER by Edwin Deloatch

Leave a comment